top of page

Bhutan Birding: Trip Itinerary

Trip Description

To its people, Bhutan goes by the name Druk Yul, or the mysterious ‘Land of the Thunder Dragon’. Isolated for centuries by its mountainous terrain, this land is home to one of the least disturbed cultures in the world, with timeless traditions and Buddhist beliefs, and one that guards its natural heritage with pride.


Bhutan itself can be divided into three major geographic zones – the low plains and valleys of the south, the mid-altitude forests, and the mountains of the inner Himalaya that form the edge of the Tibetan Plateau. Agriculture is limited to narrow valley floors, and a vast network of inaccessible valleys, whose forests cover almost two thirds of the total land area, are a stronghold of Eastern Himalayan species, left undisturbed as a result of a low population density and approachable as a result of the respect for nature shown by the Buddhist culture.

Brief Itinerary

Day 1: Arrive Paro, Bhutan.
Day 2: Paro, Chele La pass, and drive to Thimphu.
Day 3: Thimphu to Punakha (Jigme Dorji National Park and the Pho Chu Valley) via Dochu La Pass.
Day 4: Punakha to the Tashitang Valley.
Day 5: Phobjikha vaaley.
Day 6: Phobjikha to Trongsa via Pele La pass.
Day 7: Trongsa to Bumthang via Yotong La pass.
Day 8: Bumtahang to Sengor via Ura valley and Thrumshing La
Day 9: Sengor to Yongkala along the Lingmethang Road.
Day 10: Yongkala and the Lingmethang Road.
Day 11: Yongkala to Trongsa.
Day 12: Trongsa to Zhemgang and Tingtibe (Black Mountain and Royal Manas National Parks)
Day 13: Zhemgang and Tingtibe.
Day 14: Tingtibe to Gelephu.
Day 15: Gelephu to Guwahati, India, and depart.


More details about this Trip:

Detailed Itinerary

View our Bhutan Birding and Wildlife Detailed itinerary below.

bottom of page